APTA Announces 2023 Public Transportation Awards, Hall Of Fame Winners

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) recently honored 14 organizations and leaders with awards for their vision, leadership, and commitment to public transportation. The association will also induct six new members into the prestigious APTA Hall of Fame.

The 2023 APTA Awards recognize organizations and leaders in the public transportation industry in North America who have demonstrated significant leadership, are outstanding role models of excellence, and whose accomplishments and innovations have greatly advanced public transportation.

“It is my honor to congratulate the 2023 APTA Awards winners and Hall of Fame inductees for their commitment to shaping the future of public transportation, forging vital connections between communities, and spurring innovation,” said Dorval R. Carter, Jr., APTA Chair and President, Chicago Transit Authority (CTA).

“The achievements and legacies of our awardees inspire us all to continue striving for excellence in our industry and to making a lasting impact on the lives of countless individuals,” said APTA President and CEO Paul P. Skoutelas. “Congratulations to all who have been recognized for their accomplishments and for making positive impacts in their communities and our industry.


Outstanding Public Transportation System

  • SunLine Transit Agency, Thousand Palms, CA – 3 million or fewer annual passenger trips;
  • Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority, St. Petersburg, FL – More than 3 million but fewer than 15 million annual passenger trips;
  • Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District (AC Transit), Oakland, CA – More than 15 million but fewer than 50 million annual passenger trips; and,
  • New Jersey Transit, Newark, NJ – 50 million or more annual passenger trips.

Excellence In Inclusive Collaboration Award

  • Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon (TriMet), Portland, OR.


  • Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART), Oakland, CA;
  • King County Metro, Seattle, WA;
  • MTA Metro-North Railroad, New York, NY; and,
  • Park City Transit, Park City, UT.


Distinguished Service Award

  • Robert Nelson Clement, former U.S. Congressman, Nashville, TN.

Outstanding Public Transportation Manager

  • Doran Barnes, Foothill Transit, West Covina, CA.

Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member

  • Eileen Higgins, Miami-Dade Transit, Miami, FL; and,
  • Paul C. Smedberg, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member

  • Anja Graves, Cardinal Infrastructure, Washington, D.C.


  • Michael Allegra, former President & CEO, Utah Transit Authority, Salt Lake City, UT;
  • Paul J. Ballard, Weaverville, NC; former President and CEO, Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Ft. Worth, TX, among others;
  • John P. Bartosiewicz, KLC2 Connects LLC, Fort Worth, TX;
  • Julie Cunningham, posthumous, former President and CEO, Conference of Minority Transportation Officials;
  • Sharon Greene, Managing Principal, InfraStrategies LLC; and,
  • Phillip A. Washington, CEO, Denver International Airport, Denver, CO.

Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

BATA Spreads Holiday Cheer Thanks To Anonymous Donation

The Bay Area Transportation Authority (BATA), of Traverse City, MI, has been able to make the holidays a little brighter due to an anonymous donation. BATA ...
Read More

BYD Americas CEO Stella Li Honored At ‘Women Who Dared’ Dinner

BYD Americas CEO Stella Li was among 12 notable women honored for their career achievements at the 2023 China Institute “Women Who Dared” dinner, recently held ...
Read More

DART And Toyota Partner With Circuit To Connect West Dallas (TX) Residents

The West Dallas Circuit Circulators involve a fleet of six electric vehicles that operate Monday through Friday. Dallas (TX) Area Rapid Transit (DART) and Toyota have ...
Read More

Follow Busline!


Sign up to receive our industry publications for FREE!