APTA Hosts 2023 Congressional Fly-In

American Public Transportation Association (APTA) members met on September 14 with key members of the U.S. Congress to emphasize the importance of fully funding their commitment to public transportation authorized by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law.

Both the Senate and House of Representatives have advanced Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 THUD Appropriations bills.

“These forward-looking investments are critical to modernize public transit systems and meet the growing mobility demands of cities and communities. We appreciate members of Congress and their staffs taking the time to meet with our public- and private-sector members,” APTA President and CEO Paul P. Skoutelas said.

APTA calls on Congress to provide at least $21.6 billion for public transit and $20.2 billion for passenger rail in the THUD Appropriations bill, when combined with the advance appropriations of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. The Senate THUD bill provides $21.1 billion for public transit, which is $2.2 billion more than the House bill. In addition, the Senate bill provides $16.7 billion for passenger and freight rail, which is $2.0 billion more than the House bill.

APTA also urges Congress to provide $4.6 billion for Capital Investment Grants (CIG) to help communities meet mobility demands. Currently, 66 projects across the nation are seeking $42 billion of CIG funds. The Senate THUD bill provides $4 billion for CIG projects in FY 2024; the House bill provides less than $2 billion, the lowest level in two decades. See APTA’s CIG Project Pipeline Dashboard.

APTA transit agency CEOs, transit board members, and business members met directly with 15 senators and representatives, including Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS), Sen. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Sen. Raphael G. Warnock (D-GA), Rep. Eric A. “Rick” Crawford (R-AR), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit, Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit, Rep. John R. Curtis (R-UT), Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Rep. Thomas H. Kean, Jr. (R-NJ), Rep. Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Rep. Marcus J. Molinaro (R-NY), Rep. Wiley Nickel (D-NC), Rep. Burgess Owens (R-UT), Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Rep. John H. Rutherford (R-FL), and Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL).

Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

Optimal Guidelines For Choosing And Employing Wheelchair Ramps And Securements In Bus Transportation

By Pat Scully, Chief Commercial Officer, Complete Coach Works (CCW) Pat Scully The integration of accessible and inclusive transportation solutions is paramount in ensuring equal opportunities ...
Read More

Professional Soccer Team And RTC Announce ‘Ride RTC To The Match, Get In Half Price!’ Promotion

The Las Vegas Lights FC professional soccer team and the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (RTC) are partnering to provide discounted match tickets to transit riders ...
Read More

CTAA EXPO 2023 To Take Place May 21-25 In Oklahoma City, OK

The Community Transportation Association of America (CTAA) EXPO 2023 is scheduled for May 21-25, in Oklahoma City, OK. The annual training and networking event for community ...
Read More

Follow Busline!


Sign up to receive our industry publications for FREE!