MTS Board Elects Stephen Whitburn As Chair

Stephen Whitburn

The San Diego (CA) Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) Board of Directors recently elected San Diego City Councilmember Stephen Whitburn to fulfill the remainder of the Board-appointed chair term through 2023, and the next term which begins in January 2024. The Board also appointed El Cajon City Councilmember Steve Goble to Vice Chair, the position Chair Whitburn held prior to taking the top post. Chair Whitburn takes over for Nathan Fletcher, who resigned from the position in March.

“It is a great honor to lead our region’s public transit system,” Whitburn said. “There are so many positive things happening for transit in San Diego. The Board just approved a robust budget that keeps our service levels high, and continues efforts to make our transit system more equitable. MTS is recovering ridership at a much faster pace than many agencies across the nation after the pandemic. We also have major service enhancements happening this year with a new all-electric Rapid route in the South Bay, and the agency is on track to convert its entire bus fleet to zero emissions by 2040. I appreciate the trust and support of my colleagues with this appointment. This Board is a dedicated group of public servants that understand the value transit brings to all our communities.”

The MTS Board of Directors is made up of 15 local elected officials – four from the City of San Diego, two from Chula Vista, and one each from the County of San Diego, and the cities of Poway, Santee, El Cajon, La Mesa, National City, Lemon Grove, Coronado, and Imperial Beach.

Councilmember Whitburn was elected in 2020 to represent the 3rd Council District in the City of San Diego, which includes the neighborhoods of Downtown, Little Italy, Bankers Hill/Park West, Middletown, Mission Hills, Mission Valley, Hillcrest, University Heights, North Park, Balboa Park, South Park and Golden Hill. He has been a long-time neighborhood leader and public servant. Whitburn has lived and been involved in the communities of District 3 for more than two decades, working in the non-profit sector for agencies such as the American Cancer Society and American Red Cross.

“We look forward to working with Councilmember Whitburn as our new chair, and advancing our mission of providing safe and efficient transit service that San Diego residents depend on,” MTS Chief Executive Officer Sharon Cooney said. “Chair Whitburn has demonstrated an understanding and passion for transit, and he represents thousands of constituents who rely on it to get to jobs and educational opportunities in our region. We are fortunate to have a strong transit advocate taking this leadership position on our Board.”


Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

Federal Transit Administration Awards Research Grant To Further Support Transit Worker And Rider Safety

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Transit Administration (FTA) has announced a $500,000 research grant award to the University of South Florida (USF) to identify safety risks ...
Read More

ABA Foundation Motorcoach Sales Report Shows First Quarter Growth For New Vehicles In 2023

The American Bus Association Foundation (ABAF) recently released the First Quarter 2023 Motorcoach Builders Survey, which is based on surveys of the major motorcoach manufacturers that sell ...
Read More

3-Day Energy Treasure Hunt Takes Place At Bendix’s Bowling Green, KY, Plant

Bendix was recently awarded the opportunity to host an Energy Treasure Hunt, an in-plant training event through the U.S. Department of Energy’s Better Buildings, Better Plants ...
Read More

Follow Busline!


Sign up to receive our industry publications for FREE!